Cityzenjane plays 20 (or so) questions

I’m hoping for a really wide diverse response to this – so if you are inclined please pass the request on!

I’ve posted a video over on Youtube.

In this episode of my vlog I ask the following questions:

Do you live in the city, country or suburbs?

How much time do you spend in a car in a week?

What type of place did you spend most of your childhood?

How did that place change in the first 20 years of your life? (When were those first 20 years?)

What is the biggest tree you ever climbed?

How high did you go?

Have you ever caught or killed your own meat?

Have you spent a night or three out doors?

What animals if any did you see where you grew up?

Did you watch nature shows as a kid on TV?

If you could preserve 3 animals or organisms from extinction what would they be?

Do you consider yourself an animal?

Do you feel you are inside or outside of nature?

If you were raised in a city have you ever spent and extended period outside the urban environment?

Have you ever had a peak experience in nature? What was it?

Have you ever considered NOT having children for any reason? Why?

What is the closest you have ever been to a wild creature?

What is the primary protien of the culture you grew up in?

Do you feel a geniune love or biophilia towards all life?

Do you feel connected to or disconnected from nature?

What does the word ‘sustainability’ mean to you?

——————–

You are free of course to answer these here….but I am really hoping for video reponses from a diverse group of folks over on YouTube.
So I’m really hoping YOU will respond there! And also hoping that you will pass this along!

Thanks!

CZJ

[Thanks so much to Judy K over at the Savvy Vegetarian for adding me to the Carnival of the Green! People coming from there might also be interested in my I Like To Watch rss feed covering sustainability and other green goodness!]

4 thoughts on “Cityzenjane plays 20 (or so) questions

  1. I’m hoping for a really wide diverse response to this – so if you are inclined please pass the request on!

    I’ve posted a video over on Youtube.

    In this episode of my vlog I ask the following questions:

    Do you live in the city, country or suburbs?

    Suburbs. SO inherited a house there. Not my choice.

    How much time do you spend in a car in a week?

    30 miles or so.

    What type of place did you spend most of your childhood?

    Detroit public library.

    How did that place change in the first 20 years of your life? (When were those first 20 years?)

    1965-1985, the usual cutbacks, war on public sector.

    What is the biggest tree you ever climbed?

    an apple tree

    How high did you go?

    about 2 meters. I’m afraid of heights.

    Have you ever caught or killed your own meat?

    Tried fishing. Didn’t like it. Vedge since 1996 or so. Want to go vegan, not sure how to do it on starvation wages.

    Have you spent a night or three out doors?

    Yes, but not recently.

    What animals if any did you see where you grew up?

    Aside from household pets, mostly squirrels, pigeons, sparrows, occasional cardinal or blue jay; insects, spiders, woodlice, centi/millipedes. Earthworms. Occasional toads, rabbits, tortoise.

    Couple years ago, I saw a fox in my backyard here in Warren, MI! Usual backyard mammalian fauna consists of squirrels, rabbits, possums.

    Did you watch nature shows as a kid on TV?

    Yup. Wild kingdom, etc.

    If you could preserve 3 animals or organisms from extinction what would they be?

    Bonobo, Parrot, Pictus Catfish

    Do you consider yourself an animal?

    Of course.

    Do you feel you are inside or outside of nature?

    Mostly outside.

    If you were raised in a city have you ever spent and extended period outside the urban environment?

    Not more than 2 weeks, and not since childhood.

    Have you ever had a peak experience in nature? What was it?

    No peak experiences. Enough on my mind trying to nail the bottom rungs of my hierarchy of needs.

    Have you ever considered NOT having children for any reason? Why?

    I’ve never considered having any children. I’m child-free and I beat breeders over the head with it. Why? Too many warm bodies competing over what’s left of the jobs.

    What is the closest you have ever been to a wild creature?

    Live trapped a wild squirrel with obvious motor cortex damage and took to vet for euthanasia.

    What is the primary protien of the culture you grew up in?

    a well-extended meatloaf

    Do you feel a geniune love or biophilia towards all life?

    Yes.

    Do you feel connected to or disconnected from nature?

    disconnected

    What does the word ‘sustainability’ mean to you?

    More negative feedback than postitive, and none too many undamped oscillations.

    In practical terms, overcoming addiction to economic growth, voluntary austerity, family planning.

    Specifically inn the United States, fighting the automobile-as-necessity infrastructure, converting McMansions into apartment buildings, celebrating austere lifestyles.

    ——-

    You are free of course to answer these here….but I am really hoping for video reponses from a diverse group of folks over on YouTube.So I’m really hoping YOU will respond there! And also hoping that you will pass this along!

    Please forgive me for not responding in your preferred venue. I don’t own a video camera, and I don’t have a broadband connection (or any connection). The present text is being posted from a public library. I am a vagrant netizen.

    Try to think of my preference for the text web over the much-hyped “web 2.0” as bandwidth conservation đŸ™‚

    If it makes you feel better you may recite my (hopefully copyleft) ansers to your camera.

    Thanks!

    de nada

    CZJ

    LL

    [Thanks so much to Judy K over at the Savvy Vegetarian for adding me to the Carnival of the Green! People coming from there might also be interested in my I Like To Watch rss feed covering sustainability and other green goodness!]

  2. I’ll play.

    Do you live in the city, country or suburbs?

    Brooklyn, baby.

    How much time do you spend in a car in a week?

    Trending towards 0. I’m in a cab maybe once every 3 months, don’t own one, and haven’t been in someone else’s in about a year.

    What type of place did you spend most of your childhood?

    Rural south.

    How did that place change in the first 20 years of your life? (When were those first 20 years?)

    In parts, not much at all. But in most of the area, rapid, ugly sprawl became normal.

    What is the biggest tree you ever climbed?

    It was a probably 80 or so foot oak tree.

    How high did you go?

    Until it seemed like the branches were not going to support me anymore – probably about 3/4s of the way up.

    Have you ever caught or killed your own meat?

    No. I have no moral qualms about it, but hunting repulses me. I don’t eat a lot of meat, anyway.

    Have you spent a night or three out doors?

    The longest I’ve spent out of doors was a 2 week solo survival trip. Yes, I was a Boy Scout.

    What animals if any did you see where you grew up?

    Too many to name. In the wild: many snakes, lizards, raccoons, squirrels, a bobcat, deer, wolves, opossums, beavers, etc.. In captivity: every farm animal you can name. Pets we had (“pet” defined as critter that came in to the house): cats, dogs, a boa constrictor, ferrets, mice, girbils, hamsters, a Golden Tegu monitor, various other small lizards and snakes, a spider monkey. I’m probably missing some.

    Did you watch nature shows as a kid on TV?

    Hippy mom – watched very, very little TV as a kid.

    If you could preserve 3 animals or organisms from extinction what would they be?

    Bees, because they’re so important. Large apes, because I adore them. I’m having trouble prioritizing any others over one another.

    Do you consider yourself an animal?

    Yes.

    Do you feel you are inside or outside of nature?

    I’m not sure what it would mean to be outside of nature. Reality: you’re soaking in it.

    If you were raised in a city have you ever spent and extended period outside the urban environment?

    I lived in extremely rural TN for about 9 years while growing up.

    Have you ever had a peak experience in nature? What was it?

    I don’t know if I would consider it a peak experience – I’m not entirely clear on what that means. But I did have a nice, mind-clearing sense of calm and serenity one morning watching the sun come up when I was on a solo 2 week survival campout.

    Have you ever considered NOT having children for any reason? Why?

    I won’t have kids. I’ve been meaning to get around to a vasectomy. My primary reasons are, (1) I don’t think I would be a good father, because (2) I think I would resent giving up so much of my lifestyle, because (3) I’m selfish.

    What is the closest you have ever been to a wild creature?

    Does Johnny count? đŸ™‚

    I nearly stepped on a rattlesnake once. One time when I was camping, I sat still downwind from a deer trail, about 5 feet away. Some grazed by, and didn’t notice me. I spotted a bobcat at about 80 feet. We both warily avoided one another.

    What is the primary protien of the culture you grew up in?

    Meat. I grew up eating significantly less meat than those around us.

    Do you feel a geniune love or biophilia towards all life?

    I don’t know that I do. I find it vitally important to sustain the biosphere. I don’t know that that translates into something as intense as love. That I tend to only feel towards individuals.

    Do you feel connected to or disconnected from nature?

    Honestly, much less connected than I used to. 16 years of living in large cities, I think, tends to do that.

    What does the word ’sustainability’ mean to you?

    Behaving in a viable fashion – not causing more damage than I can correct.

    –Jamie

Leave a Reply

